Home » Program

Timezone: Asia/Tokyo

December 14, 2021 (Tuesday)

Opening remarks

Keynote Ryuji Wakikawa
The latest development of 6G technology [+]Expand [-]Collapse

Abstract: This keynote is given by Ryuji Wakikawa, the Vice President of advanced technology division at SoftBank Corp. With his experience and expertise in technology development, technology investment and business planning, he will share with us the latest development of 6G technology in Japan and an overview of their stratosphere-based communication platform (HAPSmobile).
Speaker's Bio:
Ryuji Wakikawa is the Vice President of advanced technology division at SoftBank Corp and a Project Professor at Media and Governance, Keio University, Japan, where he received his Ph.D in 2004. He published several RFCs for mobility and Internet protocols in IETF and also wrote several technical books in Japan. He also received the 10th Ericsson Young Scientist Award, Japan, in 2007. He is a board member of several companies like HAPSmobile, Monet technologies (that is a joint venture with SoftBank and Toyota), and 5x5 technologies.


1st Session: Connectivity
Chair: Ricky K. P. Mok (CAIDA/UCSD)
  • What the Tropical Pacific Wants From Starlink for Christmas: Will Leo Networks Finally Bridge the Digital Divide to Remote Islands?
    Ulrich Speidel (The University of Auckland)
  • WebRTC-based measurement tool for peer-to-peer applications and preliminary findings with real users
    Kosuke Nakagawa, Manabu Tsukada (The University of Tokyo)
    Keiichi Shima (IIJ Innovation Institute)
    Hiroshi Esaki (The University of Tokyo)
  • Verifying Network Properties in SRv6 based Service Function Chaining
    Ryusei Shiiba (Sokendai)
    Satoru Kobayashi Osamu Akashi (National Institute of Informatics)
    Kensuke Fukuda (National Institute of Informatics/Sokendai)


Invited Talk Debopam Bhattacherjee
Towards Performant Networking from Low-Earth Orbit

December 15, 2021 (Wednesday)

Keynote Bruce Maggs
Health Monitoring with Wireless Sensors and Machine Learning [+]Expand [-]Collapse

Abstract: This talk introduces the Emerald health monitoring system, a new technology that automates health monitoring through innovations in wireless sensing and machine learning. An Emerald device in the home transmits low-power radio signals and records their reflections. The recorded data is then passed to the cloud for processing using neural network algorithms. The monitoring system can infer the movements, breathing, heart rate, falls, sleep apnea, and sleep stages of people in their homes — all without requiring them to wear any sensors. By monitoring physiological signals continuously, the system can automatically detect deterioration in health conditions, enabling early intervention and care. The talk will describe the underlying technology and present results demonstrating its promise in monitoring geriatric populations.

Speaker's Bio:
Bruce Maggs received the S.B., S.M., and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1985, 1986, and 1989, respectively. His advisor was Charles Leiserson. After spending one year as a Postdoctoral Associate at MIT, he worked as a Research Scientist at NEC Research Institute in Princeton from 1990 to 1993. In 1994, he moved to the Computer Science Department at Carnegie Mellon, where he ultimately achieved the rank of full Professor. While on a two-year leave-of-absence from Carnegie Mellon, Maggs was a founding employee of Akamai Technologies, serving as its first Vice President for Research and Development. In 2009, Maggs joined Duke University, where he is the Pelham Wilder Professor of Computer Science. In 2018 he was part of a large team that received the inaugural ACM SIGCOMM Networking Systems Award for the Akamai Content Distribution Network, and was named an ACM Fellow. Maggs is currently on part-time leave from Duke and is serving as Director of Engineering for Emerald Innovations.

2nd Session: Machine Learning and Networking
Chair: Youngjoon Won (Hanyang University)
  • DRL-FTO: Dynamic Flow Rule Timeout Optimization in SDN using Deep Reinforcement Learning
    Faizul Haq, Adeeba Naaz (IIT Hyderabad)
    T V Pavan Kumar Bantupalli (IIT Hyderabad)
    Kotaro Kataoka (IIT Hyderabad)
  • capsAEUL: Slow HTTP DoS Attack Detection using Autoencoders through Unsupervised Learning
    Tahir Ahmed Shaik (IIT Hyderabad)
    Kotaro Kataoka (IIT Hyderabad)


3rd Session: Network Measurements and Inferencing
Chair: Anant Shah (Edgecast)
  • Twitch’s CDN as an Open Population Ecosystem
    Wei-Shiang Wung (NTU)
    Guan-Ting Ting (NTU)
    Ruey-Tzer Hsu (NTU)
    Cheng Hsu (NTU)
    Yu-Chien Tsai (NTU)
    Caleb Wang (NTU)
    Yuan-Tai Liu (NTU)
    Hsi Chen (NTU)
    Polly Huang (NTU)
  • Learning Regexes to Extract Network Names from Hostnames
    Matthew Luckie (University of Waikato)
    Alexander Marder
    Bradley Huffaker
    Kimberly Claffy (CAIDA / UC San Diego)
  • MAC address randomization tolerant crowd monitoring system using Wi-Fi packet
    Yuyi Cai (The University of Tokyo)
    Manabu Tsukada (The University of Tokyo)
    Hideya Ochiai (The University of Tokyo)
    Hiroshi Esaki (The University of Tokyo)


WIDE Project speaker Takashi Tomine
ARENA-PAC and the future research topics

December 16, 2021 (Thursday)

Invited Talk Bing Wang
Large-scale Automatic Depression Screening Using Smartphone Data

Invited Talk Manabu Tsukada
Cooperative Automated Driving Using Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X)


Online Classroom Lessons Learned Session Prométhée Spathis
An analysis of student workflow in COVID-19 times


Posters Adisorn Lertsinsrubtavee
Lightning Talks

Posters Session

  • Continuous and Secure In-Flight Wireless LAN with Roaming
    Hideaki Goto (Tohoku University)
  • An Active Forest Fire Surveillance System using Internet
    Panjai Tantatsanawong (Silpakorn University)
    Veerachai Tanpipat (Kasetsart University)
    Apisake Hongwitayakorn (Silpakorn University)
  • Capture-Mark-Recapture Twitch’s Video Content Servers: A Validation Study
    Wei-Shiang Wung (National Taiwan University)
    Cheng Hsu (National Taiwan University)
    Guan-Ting Ting (National Taiwan University)
    Ruey-Tzer Hsu (National Taiwan University)
    Yu-Chien Tsai (National Taiwan University)
    Caleb Wang (National Taiwan University)
    Yuan-Tai Liu (National Taiwan University)
    Hsi Chen (National Taiwan University)
    Polly Huang (National Taiwan University)